Rockford Diocese Statistical Profile

The Rockford Diocese covers 6,457 square miles of northwestern Illinois. It was established on Sept. 23, 1908.

Its northern boundary is the state line of Illinois and Wisconsin. Its eastern boundary abuts the Archdiocese of Chicago and the Diocese of Joliet. Its southern boundary abuts the Diocese of Peoria, and its western boundary is the Mississippi River.

The diocese includes 11 counties: Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, JoDaviess, Kane, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside and Winnebago. The diocese includes urban, suburban and rural areas, and in many respects serves as a microcosm of the Catholic Church in the United States.

According to the diocese’s annual general report to the Vatican for the year ending Nov. 2018:

There are 347,626 Catholics in the diocese’s 11-county area.

The diocese includes 104 parishes and one oratory.

It is served by a total of 129 active priests in our diocese, with another 3 serving in other dioceses in the United States.

There are 38 religious priests, 174 permanent deacons, 66 religious women and 7 religious brothers serving in the diocese.

One man was ordained to the priesthood in 2018.

There are 22 men studying for the Rockford diocesan priesthood at various seminaries.

As regards to administration of the sacraments, there were

  • 4,592 infant Baptisms,
  • 193 adult Baptisms,
  • 5,604 First Communions,
  • 5,495 Confirmations
  • 152 persons received into full communion
  • 888 marriages

There were 8,072 children enrolled in the diocese’s 39 grade schools, 3,286 enrolled in its eight high schools(6 diocesan, 2 private), and 26,742 enrolled in parish religious education programs.

For more information about the diocese, contact the Office of Communications & Publications at, call 815-399-4300 or write to the office at 555 Colman Center Dr., P.O. Box 7044, Rockford, IL 61125.